Carnival Atmosphere At Competitive Connemara Finals

Adverse weather conditions could not dampen the spirits of the multitudes of boys and girls who descended on the home pitch of Cumann Séamus Ó Máille in Oughterard on June 14th last for the annual Cumann na mBunscol Divisional Finals.  The standard of football was particularly high at division one level with Oughterard A capturing the prestigious Thomas Sailor Flaherty Memorial Cup in the boys and Cloughbrack retaining the Mary Canning Memorial Cup in girls.  North Connemara continues to set the standard in the latter with Dúiche Seoighe taking home four championship titles.  It was an historic day on a number of fronts, with Scoil Mhuire, Clifden, competing for the first time ever and Cashel (Division 2 Boys) and Collinamuck (Division 6 Girls) making their long awaited championship breakthroughs.


Much needed refreshments were provided by the Ladies Sub-Committee of Oughterard GAA and official photographer Tony O’Hehir (087 7944222) got round to all teams and all presentations throughout the course of a very long and busy day.  In his introductory speech at the Presentation Ceremony, Cumann na mBunscol’s  Gerry Hussey, acknowledged the financial contribution of Supermacs, the Official Sponsor.  He thanked all the teachers, parents and coaches for their ongoing vocational work with all the young people.  He extended a sincere word of gratitude to Oughterard GAA Executive Committee Officers, John Joe Reilly, Ollie Lee and Richie Lee.  He complimented the caterers on a job well done and last but not least he paid special tribute to the Connemara Cumann na mBunscol Sub-Committee of Mark Regan, John O’Callaghan, John Connolly, Michael O’Domhnaill, Eamonn Seoighe, Michael O’ Máille, Michael McDonagh, PJ Lee, Paul Gannon, John Francis Flaherty, Johnny Coyne and Geraldine Feerick for all their sterling work in organising and promoting the wonderful sport of gaelic football, west of the Corrib.


Written by Paul Gannon

Connemara Journal June 2012


Cluichí Ceannais Cumann na mBunscol
Chonamara 2012

Buachaillí (Buaiteoirí)

Comórtas Craobh Sciath Pláta
Roinn 1 Oughterard A Letterfrack Roscahill A
Roinn 2 Cashel Roscahill B Oughterard B
Roinn 3 Clonbur Roscahill C RoundstoneA
Roinn 4 Cloughbrack A Derryglin Clifden D
Roinn 5 Tooreeny B Ardthiar Clifden E
Roinn 6 Cornamona Roundstone B Claddaghduff

Cailíní (Buaiteoirí)

Comórtas Craobh Sciath Pláta
Roinn1 Cloughbrack A Eagles Nest A Clifden A
Roinn 2 Clonbur Claddaghduff Clifden B
Roinn 3 Cornamona Oughterard A Clifden C
Roinn 4 Cloughbrack B Oughterard B Ballyconneely
Roinn 4 Tooreeny B Cornamona B Eagles Nest B
Roinn 6 Collinamuck Derryglin Oughterard D